Tuesday, 24 December 2013

Story Lengths

In Neil Gaiman's The Sandman comic book series, three stories have eight episodes:

Preludes And Nocturnes;
The Doll's House;
Season Of Mists -

- and three have six: 

A Game Of You;
Worlds' End;
The Wake -

- although the story of Rose Walker comprises only six episodes of The Doll's House so that, in this case, there is a six-episode story within an eight-episode story. Before I understood what Neil Gaiman was doing with this series, I thought that The Doll's House should be reduced to the six Rose Walker episodes and that the other two episodes ought to be collected in other volumes.

There are three groups of short stories:

Dream Country (4 stories);
Distant Mirrors (3+1);
Convergence (3).

Distant Mirrors is "3+1" because it was published in issues no 29, 30, 31 and 50.

Two longer story lines, Brief Lives with 9 episodes and The Kindly Ones with 13, complete the 75 issue monthly comic book series. 

No comments:

Post a Comment