Sunday, 22 December 2013

The D Family

(i) Neil Gaiman was to write a Sandman series for DC Comics but with a new character of that name.
(ii) His initial notes indicated three brothers: Death, Sleep and ?
(iii) Death became a sister.
(iv) Sleep and ? became Dream and Destiny.
(v) Destiny already existed as a DC character, created by Marv Wolfman.
(vi) By coincidence, the names of these characters begin with "D," so Gaiman decided to continue this with the rest of the Endless family.
(vii) The three already named are the elder three because:
       events involve destiny;
       life involves death;
       consciousness involves dreams.
(viii) Thinking about the processes that follow from life and consciousness, Gaiman then created Destruction, Desire, Despair and Delirium.
(ix) A friend suggested Delight so Gaiman made her the original form of Delirium.

If you look in Swamp Thing, Volume 6, Reunion (New York, 2003), by Alan Moore and Rick Veitch, then in panel 15 on p. 16 of Chapter 6, written by Veitch, you will see Jed dreaming of the Sandman, Brute and Glob.     

No comments:

Post a Comment